Easy and healthy fruity frozen yoghurt

Ah, holidays again.

And spring is here.  The weather is warming up and we’ve even had some beautiful days of sunshine!

This has put me in the mood for some frozen treats and I came across this 5-minute healthy strawberry frozen yoghurt recipe on Just A Taste.  I’ve been looking for healthier treats which I can give to my little one without feeling guilty about it and so when I saw a big bag of Fruzio frozen strawberries at the supermarket, I decided to give it a go.  At the last second, I also threw a bag of diced frozen mangos (also produced by Fruzio in case you’re curious) into my trolley as well.

This is SUCH an easy recipe.  I made one batch with strawberries and one batch with mangoes.  I discovered that if you eat it immediately, the strawberry one is creamy, but after freezing, it gets a bit icy.  The mango one, however, stays lovely and creamy even after freezing.  To make it easier to scoop, I’d take it out of your freezer for 5-10 mins before serving and use an ice scream scoop that’s been dipped in hot water.

I’m sure you could substitute all sorts of different fruits, but they need to be frozen.  Also, I reckon you could make this dairy-free by using dairy-free yoghurt such as coconut yoghurt or substituting chopped frozen bananas.  You could also make them into popsicles by scooping it into the moulds once you have processed it all up.

Bring on summer!

 

Easy and healthy fruity frozen yoghurt

 

Easy and healthy fruity frozen yoghurt

 

Ingredients

4 C frozen fruit (such as strawberries or mangoes)

3 Tbsp agave nectar, or honey, or maple syrup (you can add more if you would like the final product to be sweeter)

1/2 C plain yoghurt

1 Tbsp fresh lemon juice

 

Method

Add the frozen fruit, sweetener of choice, yoghurt and lemon juice to the bowl of a food processor.  Process until creamy – about 5 minutes.

Serve immediately or transfer to an airtight container and store in the freezer for up to 1 month.

 

Easy and healthy fruity frozen yoghurt

Leave a Reply

