Warm shredded lamb salad with mint and pomegranate

As I mentioned in an earlier post, I was given a couple of new cooking gadgets for my birthday and Christmas.  One of these was the Breville Fast Slow Cooker, which is a slow cooker and pressure cooker all in one.

I love it!  I’ve never had a pressure cooker before and I love how quickly it works.  I also love how it has a timer so the slow cooker will stop cooking at the right point, even when I’m not at home.  You can also sear and sauté meat right in the cooker so you don’t have to brown the meat and then transfer to the pot.

Okay, I’ll stop gushing now and start talking about the first recipe I cooked in it, which was a version of Nigella Lawson’s warm lamb salad.  In Nigella’s version, the lamb cooks very slowly overnight in the oven, but as it is summer and I didn’t want to warm the house up anymore, I decided to try it in the pressure cooker.

It worked very well and the resulting dish was delicious and surprisingly fresh tasting, due to the bursts of juice from the pomegranate and the cooling mint.  It would be great served with pita bread, hummus and a salad.

 

Warm shredded lamb salad with mint and pomegranate

 

Warm shredded lamb salad with mint and pomegranate

 

Ingredients

 

1kg lamb leg or shoulder

1 onion, quartered but not peeled

4 cloves garlic

1 carrot, peeled and halved

500mL boiling water

oil

salt

handful freshly chopped mint

1 pomegranate

 

 

Method

Brown the lamb and then the vegetables in a bit of oil.  Sprinkle with salt and then cook in the pressure cooker on high for about an hour.  Remove the lamb from the cooker once the pressure is released and shred the meat with a fork.

While the lamb is cooking, cut the pomegranate in half.  Remove the seeds from one half and save for later.

Place the shredded meat in a wide, shallow bowl or on a large platter.  Sprinkle with more salt and the freshly chopped mint.  Scatter the pomegranate seeds over the top.

Squeeze the juice from the other half of the pomegranate over the salad and serve warm.

 

Warm shredded lamb salad with mint and pomegranate

 

 

8 thoughts on “Warm shredded lamb salad with mint and pomegranate

  1. I thought I recognised the dish – I must have the same Nigella book that you do (is it Nigella Bites?). It does look so beautiful with the mint and pomegranate…I really must try it myself one day.

  2. This looks lovely. I’ve never used a pressure cooker and I have to admit, they scare me. I imagine it would explode if I had one, but the 2 in 1 version sounds great, especially if you can brown the meat in it first.

Leave a Reply

