Pork and prawn wontons in spicy Sichuan soup

When I started this blog, I wanted to share recipes I had tried with other people.

Mostly.

I also had partly selfish reasons for starting this blog.  I try so many different recipes out that I often forget what I’ve cooked and so I wanted to document tasty dishes I had made to remind myself for those times when I feel a bit uninspired.

So this post actually falls into this category – I’m actually writing this thinking that it’s because I want this recorded for myself so I can make it again.  I love wonton soup and I do already have a recipe for pork wontons on the blog, but this one is a variation of it.

I wanted to try making the Sichuan style soup instead, and found a recipe on the China Sichuan Food site.  I changed it a bit as it used chicken essence powder which is not something I had in the pantry.  The recipe is my usual pork and prawn wontons which is pretty similar to my sister’s version.  (And I’ll let you in on a secret – we didn’t have pork mince at home so I used turkey mince!  Yes, really weird, I know.  But, surprisingly, it actually worked.)

 

Pork and prawn wontons in spicy Sichuan soup

 

Pork and prawn wontons

 

Ingredients

1 tsp salt
400g ground pork (not too lean – the wontons will be juicier if there’s a bit of fat in it)
200g prawn meat, chopped
handful of dried shittake mushrooms, reconstitued in hot water, tough stems removed and then finely chopped
2cm knob of ginger, peeled and grated
2 cloves garlic, minced/crushed
1 Tbsp soy sauce
1 Tbsp Chinese rice wine
2 tsp sesame oil
1 spring onion, finely chopped
1 Tbsp cornstarch
pack of wonton wrappers

 

 

Method

Combine the pork mince, prawn meat, shittake mushrooms, soy sauce, spring onions, rice wine, sesame oil and cornstarch.  Mix together well.

Wrap the wontons (for step by step photos, check out the China Sichuan Food explanation here).

To cook, bring your chosen soup stock to the boil, drop the wontons in, wait until they float to the top and leave for an extra minute.  From there, they should be cooked.  If your wonton wrappers are quite floury, you may want to cook them in a separate pot of water first before draining and adding to the stock (this will stop the stock from thickening).

 

 

Spicy Sichuan soup

 

Ingredients per serving

1 C chicken stock
1 Tbsp sesame oil
1 Tbsp soy sauce (can use less if your chicken stock is already quite salty)
1 tsp chilli oil (the kind with chilli flakes, or you can add them if not)
1 tsp vinegar (Chinkiang is probably best, but you can use whatever vinegar you have if you don’t have it)
1 tsp chopped spring onion

 

Method

Bring chicken stock to the boil, as much as you need depending on the number of serves.

In each serving bowl, put the sesame oil, soy sauce, chilli oil and vinegar.  Add your cooked wontons, ladle over the hot stock and then sprinkle with the spring onion.  Serve immediately.

 

Pork and prawn wontons in spicy Sichuan soup

5 thoughts on “Pork and prawn wontons in spicy Sichuan soup

Leave a Reply

