Lemon and crayfish pappardelle

Last weekend, we headed down to Silo Park to check out the Mighty Matariki Market.  It started off as quite a nice afternoon, and we casually strolled around, buying some tasty tidbits for lunch.  However, the weather turned quickly (typical Auckland weather) and we decided that it was time to go.  We popped into the Auckland Fish Market to see what we could pick up for dinner before briskly walking back to the car.

At the market they had two small crayfish tails for $28, which is relatively cheap for crayfish here in Auckland, but still definitely a treat for us.  I’d had an idea to cook a pasta dish for dinner as I’d recently come into possession of my Dad’s old pasta machine and was keen to try it out.

Lemon and crayfish pappardelle

I’ve never actually made pasta before, so went looking online for an easy recipe.  I came across Jamie Oliver’s fresh egg pasta recipe and decided to try it out.

Lemon and crayfish pappardelle

We were pleased with the results – you can easily change the quantities of the recipe as you only need 100g flour and 1 large egg per person.  However, the kneading takes quite a bit of work to get the dough to the point of being nice and smooth.  Luckily for me, when my arms were tired, hubby took over.  After cooking, the pasta ended up being silky and springy.

Lemon and crayfish pappardelle

This is a lovely, light pasta dish which helps to make a little bit of expensive seafood go a long way.  You can easily substitute the crayfish for prawns or crabmeat.

 

Lemon and crayfish pappardelle

 

Lemon and crayfish pappardelle

 

Serves 2

 

Ingredients

300g cooked, peeled crayfish, chopped into chunks

juice of half a lemon

1 Tbsp lemon zest

1 clove garlic, minced

30g butter

olive oil

2-3 Tbsp chopped Italian flat leaf parsley

200-300g pappardelle (enough for 2 serves)

 

Method

In a small pan, melt the butter over a medium low heat.  Add a good glug of olive oil and the garlic.  Fry the garlic gently until softened and then add the lemon juice, zest and parsley.  Stir together and then take off the heat.  Pour the sauce over the crayfish meat.  Stir together and set aside.

Lemon and crayfish pappardelle

Cook the pasta in a pot of salted, boiling water.  Drain the pasta, reserving a few tablespoons of the cooking water.

Lemon and crayfish pappardelle

Return the pappardelle to the pot, add the crayfish mixture and reserved cooking water, and then gently stir everything together.  Season to taste.

Divide between two pasta dishes and drizzle over some more olive oil.  Serve hot.

 

Lemon and crayfish pappardelle

 

 

 

8 thoughts on “Lemon and crayfish pappardelle

  1. This looks great (as does your logo – is it new?)! Did you use type 00 flour as Jamie specifies, or just use the standard stuff? I’m going to give this a go too, even though I don’t have a pasta machine.

    • Thanks – you noticed! I managed to rope my little sister into designing a logo for me (because I’m not very talented at artsy things). I actually used high grade flour (we bake bread quite a bit) and it seemed to turn out all right. I think high grade is not too far removed from the Italian 00 flour, but it’s hard to tell because we don’t have easy access to Italian flours and they grade them differently to us here in NZ.

  2. Great job on the homemade pasta!!
    I find it so neat the different terminology across countries. You guys call it crawfish, we call them lobster. Crawfish is much, much smaller to us.
    But again, wonderful post!

    • Thanks! Actually, I think that crayfish, lobster and crawfish are all quite different! Your lobsters have big claws, but our crayfish don’t. But our crayfish is big and from the sea, while your crawfish is small and freshwater! Confusing. But I’m pretty sure that lobster and crayfish are interchangeable in recipes anyway. I love crayfish, but it’s so expensive here.

  3. Well done! Looks delicious and a lovely way to enjoy crayfish.

    I still amazes me the price of crayfish here. My friend grew up in the Bay of Plenty and gets free crayfish from family, yet I pay $90 for a small crayfish. It makes me wonder how the market price is set? Wouldn’t it be worth buying a crayfish pot and dinghy? After a couple of meals, it would pay for itself easy.

Leave a Reply

