Mrs Lindgren’s salted nut toffee

Who Mrs Lindgren is, I actually don’t know.  I got this recipe from a Taste magazine a long time ago and I can’t remember what the story behind it was.  I’ve changed the title slightly as it is meant to be a salted almond toffee, but obviously you can use any nuts you like.  In this case, I had a bag of macadamia nuts to use (thanks Mum!).

I used a slightly bigger pan than the one stated in the recipe as I wanted my toffee to be a bit thinner.  I’ve found that if you cook the toffee for a bit longer than the recipe states, it ends up being a bit more brittle like (rather than a chewy toffee) which I prefer.  I also like to store it in the fridge as it makes the toffee a bit crunchy.

Luckily this makes a big batch as it is definitely an addictive sweet treat.  Thanks Mrs Lindgren!

 

Mrs Lindgren's salted nut toffee

Mrs Lindgren’s salted nut toffee

 

Ingredients

1 C sugar

220g butter

1 tsp vanilla extract

3 Tbsp water

2 x 100g bars of good quality dark chocolate (70% cocoa for instance)

3/4 C salted, roasted nuts, roughly chopped

 

Method

Grease and line a 22cm square tin.

Place the first 4 ingredients in a pot and cook over medium heat for about 10 (-20) minutes until caramelised, stirring all the time.

Pour the toffee into the prepared tin.

Break the chocolate bars in half lengthways and place on top of the hot toffee.  Use a knife to spread them over the entire toffee as they melt.

Mrs Lindgren's salted nut toffee

Sprinkle with salted nuts and place in the fridge to chill.

Mrs Lindgren's salted nut toffee

Break into shards and enjoy.

Mrs Lindgren's salted nut toffee

Mrs Lindgren's salted nut toffee

 

2 thoughts on “Mrs Lindgren’s salted nut toffee

Leave a Reply

