M&M’s stuffed chocolate cupcakes

My sister-in-law emailed me the other week saying that she’d bought some cupcakes from a fundraiser and that they were really delicious.  She’d found the recipe on the Chelsea Sugar website (click here for the original recipe) and wanted to share it with me.  When I had a look, I was quite pleased to see that it didn’t involve any creaming of butter as I don’t have a mixer.  While I am sometimes happy to put in a bit of elbow grease in my baking, I often can’t be bothered.

I decided to have a go at it the other night.  Of course, I couldn’t leave it as it was and thought that this would be a perfect excuse to use the cupcake corer one of my sisters had bought me a while ago.  It looks like this:

Cupcake corer

Cupcake corer

I didn’t know what to put into the core of the cupcake though, but knew I had a packet of mini M&M’s in the pantry.  I seem to have a thing for going completely overboard when it comes to chocolate in my baking, so no surprise that I decided to stuff chocolatey cupcakes with even more chocolate.  I iced the cupcakes with strawberry icing in the end though (using the Little Orchard strawberry icing from Farro) – I figured that I didn’t want death by chocolate to become a literal phrase.

This might be a lovely treat for a kid’s birthday party.  Of course, you can fill your cupcakes with whatever you like, but you also don’t need to stuff the cupcakes with anything at all – the cake itself is very moist and spongey, as well as being incredibly easy to make.

And I’ll finish this intro off by doing a shameless plug for my Facebook page – you can follow me by clicking here if you haven’t already!

 

M&M's stuffed chocolate cupcakes

 

M&M’s stuffed chocolate cupcakes

 

Ingredients

½ cup white sugar
½ cup brown sugar
¾ cup + 2 Tbsp plain flour
¼ cup + 2 Tbsp cocoa powder
¾ tsp baking soda
¾ tsp baking powder
¼ tsp salt
1 egg
½ cup of milk
¼ cup of canola oil
1 tsp vanilla
½ cup boiling water
150g packet of mini M&M’s
icing of your choosing

 

M&M's stuffed chocolate cupcakes

 

Method

Preheat the oven to 180°C conventional or 160°C fan-forced. Line a 12 hole muffin tray with paper cases.

Sift together the dry ingredients into a large bowl.

Add the egg, milk, oil and vanilla then beat together with a mixer until combined.

Scrape the sides of the bowl then add the boiling water and mix until just combined (the batter will be very runny). Pour the batter into a measuring cup (it’s easier and cleaner than using a spoon) and pour evenly into each paper case until 3/4 filled (don’t overfill or the mixture will overflow).

Place into the oven and bake for 20-22 minutes or until a skewer inserted in the center comes out clean. Remove from the oven and let them cool completely.

Using a cupcake corer (or you could just use a spoon), core your cupcakes.  Fill each one with 1-2 teaspoons of M&M’s.  Cut the core of the cupcake in half and then replace the top half on top of the M&M’s-filled hole.  (If you’re using a spoon, this will probably be too difficult – you could just fill up the hole with M&M’s and then cover it all with icing instead.)

M&M's stuffed chocolate cupcakes

Ice your cupcakes with the icing of your choosing and decorate with any leftover mini M&M’s.

 

M&M's stuffed chocolate cupcakes

 

M&M's stuffed chocolate cupcakes

5 thoughts on “M&M’s stuffed chocolate cupcakes

  1. Pingback: Ladybug birthday party | Rice & Kai

Leave a Reply

