Gingernut, blueberry and lemon mascarpone dessert

So as I said in a previous post, I’m making my way through my Mad Millie Italian Cheese Kit, and the other day I had a go at the mascarpone cheese.  This was much easier than I expected, though it did take a little while.

Now I have heaps of mascarpone in the fridge with a short shelf life and I’ve been trying to think of recipes in order to utilise it all.  I know that nursing mothers need lots of calcium, but when they said that, they probably didn’t mean that those mothers should eat 700g cream cheese in 4 days.

So here’s just one of the recipes which I’ve used the mascarpone for.  It’s a rich and decadant recipe so don’t make the servings too big.  Of course, you don’t have to make individual servings at all – you can make up one big bowl for everyone to help themselves to.

This recipe includes one of my favourite dessert shortcuts – crushed Griffin’s Gingernut biscuits.  I don’t really eat Gingernuts on their own, but what I do find useful is to crush up the whole packet and keep it in a resealable bag in the pantry.  Then I use it for all sorts of things, such as this recipe, or sometimes I melt butter or coconut oil, mix it with some of the crushed biscuits and use it as a topping for fruit crumbles or to sprinkle on top of fruit before baking them in the oven.  It’s also nice mixed in with vanilla ice cream.  So easy and tasty for when you have a craving for something sweet!

 

Gingernut, blueberry and lemon mascarpone dessert

 

Gingernut, blueberry and lemon mascarpone dessert

 

Serves 5-6

 

Ingredients

300mL thickened cream

200g mascarpone cheese

4 Tbsp lemon curd

1 1/2 C blueberries (fresh or frozen)

3 Tbsp water

1 Tbsp icing sugar

juice from one small lemon (or lime)

100g crushed Gingernut biscuits

 

Method

Place the blueberries, water, icing sugar and lemon juice in a small saucepan.  Simmer for 10-12 minutes until thickened.  Leave to cool.  (Note: this will thicken further as it cools.)

In a bowl, whisk together the mascarpone, lemon curd and 200mL of the thickened cream until well combined.

In individual serving glasses, layer up the mascarpone mixture, then the blueberry compote, then sprinkle on a layer of crushed Gingernuts.  Continue to do this until it is all used up, but leave some of the biscuits to garnish at the end.  Top it all off with a generous scoop of the rest of the thickened cream and sprinkle on the rest of the Gingernuts.  Serve.

(If you wish to make in advance, sprinkle the rest of the crushed biscuits right before serving to ensure a bit of a crunchy texture.)

 

Gingernut, blueberry and lemon mascarpone dessert

3 thoughts on “Gingernut, blueberry and lemon mascarpone dessert

  1. Hello!

    My name is Joanna and I have read your blog and I really liked your recipes! I work for a website called myTaste.com and I would love for you to join us! 🙂

    http://www.mytaste.com is a search engine that collects food blogs. We already have over 3000 blogs and if you join us you will take benefit from the trafic that we are sending to your blog.

    Add our widget and hopefully with your recipes your blog will be on the top of the food blogs list!
    If you have any questions please don’t hesitate to contact me at info@mytaste.com

    To join myTaste, just go to http://www.mytaste.com/add-your-food-blog

    Best regards, Joanna
    mytaste.com

  2. Pingback: Mad Millie Italian Cheese Kit | Rice & Kai

Leave a Reply

