Takoyaki time!

For Christmas, one of my sisters bought me a takoyaki pan and I’ve been looking for a time to try it out (which is not easy with a little baby!).

In the weekend, I recruited hubby to deal with any crying and got to work!

Takoyaki pan, brush, skewer and flour mix

Takoyaki pan, brush, skewer and flour mix

I won’t lie and say I cooked them from scratch – I went to Japan Mart and bought a takoyaki flour mix and guessed how to make it up following the pictures (the instructions are in Japanese!).  It was a 200g packet and I mixed it with 2 eggs and 600mL water.  I had about 80 grams of octopus meat which I cut up.  I didn’t combine it with the mix though.  Instead, I half-filled the pan, then put a piece in each one and then topped up each with more batter.

The takoyaki pan is a cast iron one, which my sister also bought from Japan Mart.  I don’t have a gas stove, but it seemed to work fine.

Takoyaki time

The first batch was a bit of a failure – I didn’t quite have the technique down of turning the balls and so some of them burnt.  I realised very quickly that you need to turn them over when the outside is set but the inside is still uncooked so that it will form a round shape rather than a dome!  This required me to experiment a bit with the right sort of heat under the pan – in the end it needed to be about medium-high.

I also needed to make sure that the octopus was well covered with batter (not like in the photo) because it also had an annoying habit of sticking to the cast iron pan and coming out of the takoyaki balls when I tried to lift them out.  This happened even when I used a lot of oil!

Takoyaki time

I served the takoyaki with takoyaki sauce, kewpie mayonnaise (Japanese yum yum sauce) and katsuobushi (bonito flakes).  I know you can also add shredded seaweed but I didn’t have any.  On the side I made a cabbage and tomato salad with a sesame dressing.

It was definitely time-consuming and I burnt a few fingers, but it was fun to make (even hubby wanted to have a go turning them).  About half of them were an epic failure, but I think I’ve learnt from my mistakes and next time will hopefully be better!  They do take a bit of practice but in the end, they were yummy.  Perhaps this is something you might like to try in the future…

Takoyaki time

our-growing-edge-badge

This post is part of the monthly link up party Our Growing Edge. This event aims to connect food bloggers and inspire us to try new things. This month is hosted by Louise from Crumbs and Corkscrews.  You can check out her amazing blog here.

You can find out more about Our Growing Edge by clicking here.

2 thoughts on “Takoyaki time!

  1. They look great! I love takoyaki. I was lucky enough to have eaten takoyaki in Osaka, where they were born. I know takoyaki are a casual snack, but I cannot resist ordering them when we go to Japanese restaurants. I believe the proper way to eat them is piping hot and you must chew them very carefully while sucking in cold air to help cool them quickly in your mouth. Fanning your face with your hands helps too 🙂

    I wonder if it would help your technique if you put a the batter down first, then added a piece of octopus to each one? That way the octopus might not stick to the pan? I have no experience with this so it’s just a suggestion.

    Thanks for contributing these to Our Growing Edge this month.

    • Sounds like a good technique for eating any hot food! I really want to go to Japan one day…

      I did do that but the octopus stuck after I had flipped them over. That’s why I realised you had to half fill the dome, put the piece of octopus in, then cover with more batter. That seemed to work.

Leave a Reply

