Oven-fried lemon chicken with beetroot, walnut and blue cheese salad

You may have noticed that I disappeared from the blogging world a few weeks ago…

Well, just over two weeks ago, I had a beautiful baby girl!

So as you can imagine, things have been hectic, especially since the birth was difficult and a bit traumatic (I won’t go into details, but the doc tells me that they see a case like mine once or twice a year!).  We’ve now been home for just over a week now and are learning to adjust to less sleep and being at the beck and call of an adorable and chubby little bubs!

The hubby has been a fantastic support and has also been in charge of all the meals.  It’s been great to have someone else organise the food.  However, on more than one occasion, I’ve had to wolf down a meal in 5 mins to attend to a hungry and crying baby!

I’ve enjoyed being looked after by hubby, but found myself feeling like getting back into the kitchen the other day.  So I decided to make this meal – and though it takes a little while, it isn’t labour intensive and I even managed to nurse the baby while the chicken was in the oven.

The chicken recipe isn’t exactly the most healthy but it is tasty!  It comes from the Epsom Girls’ Grammar School fundraiser cookbook titled Blend.  I have blogged about a recipe from this book before – the roast chicken pasta.  You can use chicken or duck for the recipe.  I didn’t put a lid on for the last 30 mins of cooking like the recipe says, but that’s because I wanted a nice, crispy skin on the chicken thighs.

The salad I decided to make with it is because I’ve started to get back to eating all the foods I haven’t been allowed to during my pregnancy, such as sashimi.  This salad happened because I’ve been wanting to have some blue cheese!

 

Oven-fried lemon chicken with beetroot, walnut and blue cheese salad

 

Oven-fried lemon chicken (or duck)

 

Ingredients

Lemon sauce:
1/2 tsp salt
1/2 tsp pepper
2 tsps soy sauce
2 tsps cooking oil
2 tsps lemon rind, grated
1/3 C lemon juice
1 clove garlic, crushed

Chicken:
1/2 C flour
1 tsp salt
1/4 tsp pepper
2 tsps paprika
1.5 kg chicken or duck, cut into serving size pieces
100g butter

 

Method

Preheat oven to 190 degrees Celsius.  Grease an ovenproof dish.

To make the lemon sauce, combine all ingredients and mix well.  Refrigerate for 1 hour.

Combine flour, salt, pepper and paprika.  Toss chicken or duck in seasoned flour.  Arrange chicken pieces skin side down in a single layer.  Melt butter and spoon over the chicken.  Bake for 30 mins, turn chicken pieces over and spoon lemon sauce over them.  Return to oven with a lid on and bake for a further 30 mins.

 

Oven-fried lemon chicken with beetroot, walnut and blue cheese salad

Beetroot, walnut and blue cheese salad

For this, I used a can of diced beetroot, but if you have more time and energy than me, you can roast your beetroot which I’m sure will mean a nicer salad in the end.

I drained the can of beetroot, combined it with a handful of mixed salad leaves, toasted walnut pieces and crumbled blue cheese.  I tossed this with some olive oil and balsamic vinegar and then served it with the chicken.

 

Oven-fried lemon chicken with beetroot, walnut and blue cheese salad

8 thoughts on “Oven-fried lemon chicken with beetroot, walnut and blue cheese salad

  1. Audrey – it’s so good to have you back on your blog again and cooking all this wonderful food. Merry Xmas to you all – a first for your gorgeous baby girl!!!

Leave a Reply

