Sandwiches and slushies

Tonight was a casual dinner.  On the menu:

  • toasted Reuben sandwiches

Toasted Reuben sandwiches

  • and strawberry slushies

Strawberry slushie

 

I’ve been wanting to try my hand at making my own Reuben sandwich after trying my first one at Al Brown’s Federal Deli in Auckland’s CBD.  Upon further research, it turns out that his is technically a Rachel sandwich as it uses pastrami.

Reuben sandwich

My toasted Reuben sandwiches consisted of sourdough bread, corned beef, Swiss cheese, sauerkraut and Dijon mustard.  I served them with pickles and a dollop of more mustard on the side.

I didn’t make the sauerkraut – it came from a can.  For preparing the corned beef, I used the recipe from the Farro Fresh website.  You can find it by clicking here.  It takes a little while to cook, but you end up with very tender slices if you leave it for as long as you can.

 

Strawberry slushie

Alongside the toasted Reubens, I made a very simple slushie as we had some leftover strawberries that were starting to look a bit soft and sad.

In a blender, I pureed some roughly chopped strawberries, ice, mint leaves and a bit of water.  You could add sugar or honey if your strawberries aren’t sweet.  I poured these into glasses and then added a scoop of frozen strawberry yoghurt.  Refreshing and cooling – perfect for these warm evenings!

Strawberry slushie

 

 

2 thoughts on “Sandwiches and slushies

  1. Hi Audrey, you and your hubby do make a good gourmet team like one of my friend dealing in kopi. Husband and wife team. You make good food and he takes good pictures to showcase your delicious recipes. Makes us all drool… I need a bib, lol… I need a slushy right now. I’m parched!

Leave a Reply

