White chocolate and raspberry shortcake

My colleagues at work are well-acquainted with this slice.  One of the members of our department is an amazing baker and this is probably what we request the most from her!

I finally got around to asking her for the recipe so that I could make it myself.  Seeing as I have started my maternity leave, I know I won’t be having the luxury of enjoying her baking for a while.  Also, hubby was on morning tea at work and I thought I could trial it to see if I could pull it off.

The recipe is actually a Countdown recipe and you can have a look at it here, although be warned that the ingredients list is a bit strange.  I’m not sure why butter appears on there twice.

It seemed to turn out well and wasn’t too difficult to make.  I would say to line your cake tin with baking paper with an overhang, even if it’s non-stick, as it’s quite a dense shortcake and could be hard to remove.  With the baking paper hanging over the sides, it makes it a great deal easier to lift out.  Also, don’t rush it – you must wait until it’s cooled down completely before trying to lift it out.  As tempting as gooey white chocolate may be, it will make it much harder to keep in one piece before slicing.

This is such a delicious recipe – try it out next time you have friends over for afternoon tea or dessert.

 

White chocolate and raspberry shortcake

 

White chocolate and raspberry shortcake

 

Ingredients

1 C caster sugar
1 egg
1 tsp vanilla essence
2 C flour, sifted
2 tsp baking powder
½ C good quality white chocolate, chopped
200g butter, softened
2 C frozen raspberries
icing sugar to serve
cream to serve

Method

Preheat the oven to 180°C. Line a 22cm square cake pan with baking paper.

Cream the butter and sugar with an electric beater until light and fluffy.

Add the egg and vanilla and beat well.

Fold in the flour and baking powder until well combined.

Press two-thirds of the shortcake mixture into the base of the baking pan.

Spoon the raspberries and chocolate over the base.

Sprinkle the remaining shortcake mixture on top and press down gently.

Bake for 35-40 minutes, until lightly golden brown. Cool in the pan.

Serve dusted with icing sugar and accompanied with cream.

 

Shortcake coming out of the oven.  (This is what I mean by the baking paper overhang.)

Shortcake coming out of the oven (this is what I mean by the baking paper overhang).

5 thoughts on “White chocolate and raspberry shortcake

  1. Pingback: 1 year and 100 posts later… | Rice & Kai

Leave a Reply

