Spring steak salad

I get stupidly excited when I see a new Taste magazine turn up in my letterbox.  I love settling onto the couch, spending half an hour reading and marking the recipes I want to try out.

This month (October) has heaps of recipes I want to try!  The other night I made the pan-fried scotch fillet with spicy coconut masala and lychees which was an unusual but yummy combination of flavours.  I also want to try out the parmesan-crusted minty lamb cutlets and have plans to make the super-simple tomato, basil and crispy caper angel hair pasta quick dinner.

Tonight I tried a Sarah Bowman recipe from the Spring Suppers feature.  This was a very fresh and healthy meal idea (and carb free if you’re worried about that kind of thing…).  I’m not a big fan of peas or broad beans, so I substituted that with edamame beans instead.  However, I’ve reproduced the recipe as it is, because I know not everyone shares my aversion!

Spring steak salad

Spring steak salad

Steak ingredients

2 fillet steaks (about 200g each), room temperature
1 tsp olive oil

Salad ingredients

1 fennel bulb, shaved – use a mandoline if you have one (reserve leaves to garnish)
1 beetroot, peeled and shaved – use a mandoline if you have one (reserve any small beet leaves to garnish)
1 handful green beans or asparagus, blanched
1 C frozen peas, blanched
1 C frozen broad beans, blanched and peeled
1/2 C flat-leaf parsley leaves
1/2 C mint leaves
1 tsp sumac (optional)

Mustard dressing ingredients

6 Tbsp olive oil
2 Tbsp lemon juice
2 tsp grainy mustard
2 cloves garlic, finely chopped

Method

Heat a barbecue or heavy frying pan until very hot.  Season steaks, drizzle with oil and cook over high heat for 3 minutes, turn and cook for 2 minutes.  Remove from the heat and rest for 5 minutes.  Slice wafer thin.

Toss together all salad ingredients, along with sliced steak.  Garnish with fennel leaves and small beet leaves if you have them.  Season to taste.

Place dressing ingredients in a small jar and shake to combine.  Drizzle over salad just before serving.

Spring steak salad

Leave a Reply

