Chocolate fondant

I’ve never made chocolate fondant before but have been keen to have a go for a little while now.  I was really pleased with how my first attempt turned out and I think the recipe is a keeper – the sauce inside was rich and velvety without being floury at all.  I was also surprised at how easy this recipe was!  I was nervous when I went to turn them out of the ramekins but I didn’t need to worry.

This is a Gordon Ramsay recipe which I got off the BBC Good Food website.  You can find the original recipe by clicking here.  The recipe I’ve reproduced below is exactly the same, only I halved it and made only four fondants, instead of the nine in the original.  Even if you want to use the one below, I suggest you have a look at the website anyway as there are some useful tips on there.

Another great thing about this recipe is that it would be ideal for a dinner party as you can make it way in advance and freeze it – then all you have to do is stick it in the oven before it’s time for dessert.  I’ve still got two sitting in my freezer for another night when hubby and I feel like a treat!  What a dangerous thing to have on hand…

I used the Green and Black’s 70% cocoa organic chocolate for this.  I served it with plain old vanilla ice cream, but think a lovely refreshing berry sorbet would also be great to cut the richness.  Ramsay’s original recipe includes some fancier plating with a caramel sauce, but I didn’t bother doing this.

I think I might have to have a go at another one later!  There’s one that looks tempting in Rachel Khoo’s cookbook where she pipes in a caramel sauce she makes.  I’ve been told by a friend that it’s very rich though, so perhaps I might try salting the caramel sauce.

 

Chocolate fondant

 

Chocolate fondant

 

Serves 4

 

Ingredients

25g melted butter, for brushing
cocoa powder, for dusting
100g good-quality dark chocolate, chopped into small pieces
100g butter, in small pieces
100g golden caster sugar
2 eggs and 2 yolks
100g plain flour

 

Method

First get your moulds ready. Using upward strokes, heavily brush the melted butter all over the inside of the pudding mould. Place the mould in the fridge or freezer. Brush more melted butter over the chilled butter, then add a good spoonful of cocoa powder into the mould. Tip the mould so the powder completely coats the butter. Tap any excess cocoa back into the jar, then repeat with 1 the next mould.

Place a bowl over a pan of barely simmering water, then slowly melt the chocolate and butter together. Remove bowl from the heat and stir until smooth. Leave to cool for about 10 mins.

In a separate bowl whisk the eggs and yolks together with the sugar until thick and pale and the whisk leaves a trail; use an electric whisk if you want. Sift the flour into the eggs, then beat together.

Pour the melted chocolate into the egg mixture in thirds, beating well between each addition, until all the chocolate is added and the mixture is completely combined to a loose cake batter.

Tip the fondant batter into a jug, then evenly divide between the moulds. The fondants can now be frozen for up to a month and cooked from frozen. Chill for at least 20 mins or up to the night before. To bake from frozen, simply carry on as stated, adding 5 mins more to the cooking time.

Heat oven to 200C/fan 180C/gas 6. Place the fondants on a baking tray, then cook for 10-12 mins until the tops have formed a crust and they are starting to come away from the sides of their moulds. Remove from the oven, then leave to sit for 1 min before turning out.

Chocolate fondant

Loosen the fondants by moving the tops very gently so they come away from the sides, easing them out of the moulds. Tip each fondant slightly onto your hand and gently place on your plate.

Chocolate fondant

You can dust with icing sugar if you like.  Serve while still warm with ice cream or sorbet.

Chocolate fondant

8 thoughts on “Chocolate fondant

  1. Well, dang, doesn’t that just wake up the old taste buds this a.m.? On that note, I better go for my walk before I raid my chocolate stash. 😉

    • Thanks! I think you can, but probably from a specialty store. I just used normal castor sugar and it didn’t seem to be a problem. I even think I might have used slightly less than the recipe calls for and it seemed fine.

Leave a Reply

