Coca Cola chicken

A good subtitle for this post would be: ‘Quirky Family Recipes’.  This is my mum’s recipe (I’m not sure if she got it from somewhere else) and although we didn’t have it that often, it’s still a dish that reminds me of my childhood.  It’s a very easy recipe and doesn’t take much time – I imagine that while raising five children, Mum tried to get dinner on as quickly as possible!  It’s not the most healthy and nutritious of dishes, but as I said before, it wasn’t something we ate regularly.  There are only three ingredients involved and it takes minimal effort to cook – the result is a sweet, salty chicken with a lovely thick and sticky sauce which is delicious spooned over rice.  The Lee Kum Kee chicken marinade can be bought at any Asian supermarkets and I think a few of the mainstream ones stock it too.  If you want the sauce to be sweeter, add more Coca Cola, and it you want it to be saltier, add more of the chicken marinade.

We had this the other night along with a few other staples from my childhood.  One was a fried potato and egg dish (fry some thinly sliced or grated potato until golden brown, then pour over some seasoned beaten eggs and cook until it is all done) and the other was stir-fried bak choy with garlic and oyster sauce.  We of course had rice as well, along with some clear Chinese chicken broth.

Familiar tastes from my childhood

Familiar tastes from my childhood

Coca Cola chicken

Ingredients

1 kilogram of chicken nibbles (cleaned)

1/2 C Lee Kum Kee chicken marinade

1/2 C Coca Cola

Method

In a wok or large pot, combine the LKK chicken marinade and the Coca Cola and bring to a boil.  Add the chicken nibbles and continue to cook over a high heat, stirring every so often until the chicken is cooked (about 15-20 mins).  You can partially cover it if you want, but don’t fully cover it as the sauce needs to reduce. Remove the chicken and then you can reduce the sauce further if you want.  Pour over the chicken and serve.

Note: if you want an even thicker sauce, you can make a slurry of cornstarch and add it at the end as well.

12 thoughts on “Coca Cola chicken

  1. I did a similar post. I cooked them pretty often when living in Melbourne as chicken wings are cheapest in QVM. The recipe I followed uses soy sauce instead and cooking was covered. I’ll try your version one day. 😀

  2. I made a teriyaki chicken with lemon-lime soda and I also recently made root beer pulled pork. I was such a skeptic but both dishes were really tasty. I will have to try your coke chicken now- I’m sure it will be just as tasty! 🙂

Leave a Reply

