Oeufs en cocotte

After cooking for the dinner party and making the sausage and mustard pasta, I found myself with leftover creme fraiche and salmon roe.  I started trawling through recipes looking for a way to use them up and came across this recipe for oeufs in cocotte (eggs in pots) from Rachel Khoo’s The Little Paris Kitchen.

Breakfast is usually my husband’s domain; I’m lucky to be woken up on a lazy Saturday morning often with a cooked breakfast – something like bacon and eggs with hashbrowns, or waffles, or pancakes.  Mmmm.

This time I thought I’d have a go at this instead and it worked out all right.  I think I left them in a little bit long though (partly deliberately because preggers = no runny eggs apparently).  The photo is of my husband’s breakfast – mine had ham included in the pot and not salmon roe as I’m a bit off fish right now (another side effect of my pregnancy!).  I just served them with some toast soldiers.

The recipe is adapted for two people.

 

Eggs in pots

Eggs in pots

 

Oeufs en cocotte (eggs in pots)

 

Ingredients

4 Tbsps of creme fraiche

nutmeg

4 small eggs (or 2 large ones)

salt and pepper

salmon roe (for optional garnish)

dill (for optional garnish)

 

Method

Preheat the oven to 180 degrees Celsius.  Place a tablespoon of creme fraiche into the bottom of each ramekin and season with a pinch each of salt, pepper and nutmeg.  Crack two eggs on top (if using small ones – just one each if they are large) and add a second tablespoon of creme fraiche.  Again, sprinkle with a pinch each of salt, pepper and nutmeg.

Place the ramekins in a baking dish and pour enough lukewarm water into the dish to come halfway up the sides of the ramekins.  Bake for 15 minutes or until the egg yolks are set to your liking.

If you like, finish each serving with a teaspoon of salmon roe and a sprig or two of dill.

 

Note:

  • the creme fraiche can be replaced with bechamel sauce or mornay sauce.  If you like, you can add chopped mushrooms, ham, smoked salmon or cherry tomatoes after the creme fraiche
  • try swapping the dill for parsley, basil or coriander, or spice things up with a dash of Tabasco or chilli sauce

 

9 thoughts on “Oeufs en cocotte

  1. Pingback: Cheap and cheerful weekend | Rice & Kai

  2. That’s funny – I just saw this the other day on TV (the cooking show she does) and thinking I would like to give this a try once baby comes (really can’t imagine eating it without the runny egg!)

Leave a Reply

