Thai-inspired beef and noodle salad

I love Thai flavours, and this is one of my favourite meals to cook and eat.  Even though it’s the middle of winter, I think it’s sometimes nice to take a break from heavy meals and have something that tastes a bit fresher and healthier.

I like this dish as it’s got lots of strong flavours, but you could tone down the dressing if you want.  If you don’t like food as spicy as I do, you could also use less chilli (or you could use more if you really like it hot!).

And yes, for those more observant, I know I’m not supposed to be eating rare steak when I’m pregnant, so I made sure my portion was well-done!

 

Thai-inspired beef and noodle salad

Thai-inspired beef and noodle salad

 

Thai-inspired beef and noodle salad

Serves 4

Ingredients

For the salad:
250g vermicelli rice noodles
2 kaffir lime leaves, finely shredded
4 stalks coriander, chopped (leaves and stalks)
12-15 mint leaves, chopped
1 cucumber, halved lengthways, seeds scraped out, peeled into ribbons
12-15 cherry tomatoes, quartered
2 shallots, finely sliced
600g steak (I used rump)
1 Tbsp canola oil

For the dressing:
2 red chillies, finely chopped
1/2 tsp sugar
1/4 C lime juice
4 Tbsp lime juice

 

Method

Soak the noodles in hot water until they have softened.  Drain and put in a large bowl with the tomatoes, cucumber, shallots, mint, kaffir lime leaves and coriander.

For the steak, rub with oil and season both sides.  Grill on a high heat for about 3-4 mins each side.  Set aside to rest before slicing.

Steak being sliced

Steak being sliced

Mix the dressing ingredients together (chillies, sugar, lime juice and fish sauce) until the sugar dissolves and then pour over the salad.  Toss it all together.

To serve, place a generous amount of the noodle salad in a bowl and then arrange slices of the steak on top.  Garnish with extra coriander/mint/chillies if you wish.

Plated salad

Plated salad

6 thoughts on “Thai-inspired beef and noodle salad

  1. Thanks Audrey for your food ideas.

    You’re a great cook!

    Would love to know how you made the lovely red coloured salad (beetroot, etc) I ate at your place when Kathy and Sophia were in Auckland.

    Thanks,

    A/Janice

  2. Hi Audrey, I didn’t realise you are pregnant, congratulations! The recipe looks great and very refreshing. I know Thai food so my mouth is watering as I see your photos and read the recipe. I’ll definitely have the spicier take on this dish as I love spicy food. These days (getting older) my tummy cannot stomach much spice and coconut milk but I will enjoy them as much as I can until the final day arrives that I have to dash for the loo after eating laksa or the like. Have a great weekend ahead! 😀

    • Thanks Sam! Yes, exciting times ahead as we expect our first one and I’m trying to get as much cooking in as possible as I know it will change once the bubba arrives! You have a great weekend too.

Leave a Reply

