Fun with fondant

Playing with fondant reminds me of playing with Play-Doh.

I first had a go with it when one of my sisters organised a group of us to attend a cupcake decorating class for fun.  We learnt some different piping techniques, as well as how to make a few animals and other things in fondant.

These were my first attempt!

Cupcake decorating class

Cupcake decorating class

After this, I thought I’d try my hand at making various animals for an SPCA fundraiser we had at school.  After looking at some images on Google, I made up some fondant dogs and pigs to go with the bees and mice we had learnt how to do at the class.

Fondant animals

Fondant animals

These are the final products:

SPCA fundraiser cupcakes

SPCA fundraiser cupcakes

The next attempt was at some fondant butterflies using cookie cutters and edible glitter.  This idea came from a magazine my sister-in-law sent me from England.  To get them to set in a flying V shape, I poked them between the bars of a cooling rack after I cut them out.

Butterfly cupcakes

Butterfly cupcakes

After that, I was asked by a colleague at work to make some cupcakes for a school who had been through some hard times and needed some cheering up.  She wanted to put on a morning tea for them, so I decided some bright and cheerful flowers and animals would be a good idea.

Fondant flowers and animals

Fondant flowers and animals

This is what they looked like in the end:

Morning tea cupcakes

Morning tea cupcakes

These last pictures are the fondant minions I made at the request of my sister for my nephew’s birthday party.  I had no idea how to do this, but used this great blog and followed their instructions.

Fondant minions

Fondant minions

They took a while to make, but I think they turned out all right.  I called them my little fondant minion army!

Fondant minion army

Fondant minion army

Anyway, if you’ve never had a go with fondant, I encourage you to try it if you want to jazz up your cakes and cupcakes.  It’ll take you back to the days when you spent hours playing with Play-Doh or clay!

12 thoughts on “Fun with fondant

  1. Your dogs and minions are TOO CUTE!! I’ve been considering trying fondant for a while now, thanks for the inspiration!! Yum.

  2. Pingback: 1 year and 100 posts later… | Rice & Kai

  3. Pingback: Ladybug birthday party | Rice & Kai

Leave a Reply

