Easy chicken and vegetable bake

As I’m now quite a way through my pregnancy, I find that a sore back and sore feet stop me from spending as much time in the kitchen as I would like!  This chicken and vegetable bake is not so much a recipe, as a one-pot idea which pretty much only requires a bit of chopping and then you throw it in the oven and leave it for a while.  I’m sure that most people have a version of this that they make.

Usually I use chicken drumsticks or thighs (bone in) and then add whatever vegetables I have lying around.  Some ideas include potatoes, kumara, carrots, parsnips, pumpkin, courgettes, capsicums, eggplant, red onions, cherry tomatoes and so on.  I’ll often chop the vegetables that must be cooked all the way through slightly smaller than the others (for example, potatoes must be fully roasted, whereas I don’t mind if the carrots still have a bit of bite at the end).  You could also add other protein like diced sausages (chorizo would be nice) and olives if you like.

After chopping all the vegetables up, I put them in a roasting pan along with the chicken.  Add a big glug of olive oil, season generously and include whatever herbs you like.  I’ll often include some unpeeled garlic cloves and slices of lemon as well.  Toss it all together, making sure the chicken is sitting on the top, and then put it in the oven at 180-200 degrees Celsius for an hour or so, depending on the size of the chicken pieces.  During the roasting, I’ll usually give the vegetables a toss and turn the chicken over once or twice.  If I’m in the mood, I’ll dot some butter over the top for the last 5 minutes to make the dish a little bit richer.  Once the chicken is golden brown and cooked, it’s ready.  Easy!

Last night, I was in a hurry so I made some slices into the thick part of the chicken drumsticks to make sure that they cooked quickly.  I used potatoes, carrots, red and green capsicum, and tossed it all in olive oil, garlic, chilli flakes, lemon zest, chopped parsley and rosemary.  It only took about 45 minutes on fan bake at 200 degrees Celsius (with the vegetables chopped quite small-ish).

Preparing the chicken and vegetable bake

Preparing the chicken and vegetable bake

Leave a Reply

